The Pentland Skyline 2007

Stewart Whitlie on West Kip (Photo courtesy of Alan Young)

The Classic Pentland Skyline Hill Race had never seen such fine weather in years. The race in its 22nd year, attracted a field of 131 runners. The youngest competitor (and finisher) was Hector Haines of Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds, aged 18, and the oldest competitor (and finisher) was John Littlewood of Carnethy, aged 68.

The field of fired runners set off up towards the skyline to start an epic journey of the capital’s solitude. The 16 mile circuit starts at the Midlothian Snowsports Centre and incorporates fourteen peaks of the Pentland Hills. The clear day and the helpful marshals on most hilltops made navigation easier along the unmarked race route, with more that 50% of the race route being along path.

While the volunteers were busy processing entries and getting the finish set up, reports started to roll in from marshals at the halfway point. Andy Symonds of Carnegie was leading the race and Sula Young of HBT was the leading lady.

Previous World Masters champion Bill Gauld stood at the finish squinting through his binoculars trying to identify the number of the first runner alighting from the skyline. It was Andy Symonds, who later finished in a time of 2:31:38. Record holder Andy Kitchin of Lothian (who also ran this year) still maintains his 1994 record of 2:22:40. The first lady was Sula Young of HBT who finished in 3:01:05.

Marshals’ water supplies started to deplete and even the outside water tap at the Snowsports Centre also ran dry as the finish officials tried their best to provide for the finishing runners while they basked in the warm afternoon as they waited for the prize giving. Beer and Wine always puts a smile on prizewinners’ faces after 6200 feet of climbing.

The Pentland Skyline Hill Race always requires a mammoth team of volunteers to make the event safe and enjoyable for all. This year’s event involved 35 volunteers spread on and off the hills. The landowners always provide great support for the race and they should be acknowledged for their cooperation. Well done to all and we hope to see you all again for next years race which is scheduled for Sunday 12th October 2008.

Shane Bouchier

Photos compliments of Gordon Cameron, Charlie Ramsay and more.

Race Photos

131 runners started this years race.

32: Simon Fox (Carnethy), 22: Kate Ives (Kinross RR), 14: Mark Ellison (U/A).
129: David Higgins
(The Rifles), 96: Brian Howie (Carnethy)
John Littlewood (Carnethy)
80: Will Whittington (EUOC), 72: Alistair MacDonald (Dundee Hawkhill), 92: Tim Norwood (Corstorphine AAC)
107: Alasdair Anthony (Ochils), 114: Grant Stewart (EAC), 30: Ben Kemp (Portobello) Jonathan Ashworth (U/A) 16: Dan Gay (HBT), 100: 2007 Two Breweries Winner Colin Donnelly (Lochaber AC)
40: Patrick Mallett (Lomond HR), 104: Joanna Schreiber (Bellahouston RR), 46: Derek Jablonski (Lomond HR)
Record Holder Munro Bagger Steven Fallon (Carnethy) Andy Symonds (Carnegie) 100: Colin Donnelly (Lochaber AC)
1: John Blair-Fish (Carnethy), 85: Mark Roberts (HBT) 50: Mary Hunter (Portobello), 26: John Telfer (Keswick) Steven Fortune (U/A) Helena Robinson (EUMC)
95: Andrina Buchanan (Central AC), 33: Stuart Mathieson (Bellahouston RR), 94: Eddie Dealtry (Ochils), 54: Charlie Love (Dundee Hawkhill) First Half Sweepers Nigel Rose and Jane Robertson. First Half Sweepers Nigel Rose and Jane Robertson. Race Winner Andy Symonds (Carnegie)
Simon Peachey (Carnethy) Stewart Whitlie (Carnethy) Simon Peachey (Carnethy) chasing Andy Symonds (Carnegie) on West Kip. Stewart Whitlie (Carnethy) on West Kip.
    Steven Fallon (Carnethy) First Lady Sula Young (HBT)
West Highland Way Female Holder Lucy Colquhoun (Carnethy)
Mick James (Carnethy)    
First MV50 John Blair-Fish (Carnethy) Willie Mykura (Carnethy) Simon Fox (Carnethy) Brian Howie (Carnethy)
John Littlewood (Carnethy) Alan Hogg (Carnethy) Pentland Skyline Record Holder Andy Kitchin (Lothian) Chris Upson (Westies)
45: Bob Allison (Fife AC), 35: Alistair Robertson (U/A) Simon Peachey (Carnethy), 9: Race Winner Andy Symonds (Carnegie) First Lady Sula Young (HBT) followed by Jon Gay (Lochaber AC) 97: Gio MacDonald (Kinlochleven), 43: Scott McKendrick (Westies), 86: Richard Bush (U/A)
  119: Julian Hall (Penicuik Harriers), 98: John Denovan (U/A), 128: Joshua Brown (U/A) Billy Minto (HBT) with his home made fell shoes.  
David Higgins (The Rifles) followed by John Blair-Fish (Carnethy) Joanne Thin (Carnethy) John Littlewood (Carnethy)  
West Highland Way Female Holder Lucy Colquhoun (Carnethy)   Tim Norwood (Corstorphine AAC)  
Steven Fallon (Carnethy) Willie Mykura (Carnethy) Kenny Short (Teviotdale) Charlie Love (Dundee Hawkhill)
2007 Two Breweries Winner Colin Donnelly (Lochaber AC) Winner Andy Symonds (Carnegie) approaching the finish. Steven Fallon (Carnethy) approaching the finish.  

Richard Robertson presented with a quaich honouring his 10 years of organising the race. New organiser is Shane Bouchier (presenter).

Winner Andy Symonds (Carnegie).

Sula Young (HBT) was the first Lady.

Winning male team was Carnethy. Stewart Whitlie, Simon Peachey, Steven Fallon.

      Stewart Whitlie (Carnethy) was second MV40.
  John Blair-Fish (Carnethy) was the first MV50.   Tom Bowie (Fife AC) was first MV60.


MS 1 Andy Symonds Carnegie
  2 Alasdair Anthony Ochils
  3 Grant Stewart EAC
MV40 1 Colin Donnelly Lochaber AC
  2 Stewart Whitlie Carnethy HRC
  3 Chris Upson Westerlands
MV50 1 John Blair-Fish Carnethy HRC
  2 Gordon McCaffrey Clydesdale
MV60 1 Tom Bowie Fife AC
  2 Charlie Love Dundee Hawkhill
M TEAM 1 Simon Peachey Carnethy HRC
    Stewart Whitlie Carnethy HRC
    Steven Fallon Carnethy HRC

FS 1 Sula Young HBT
  2 Ellen Homewood Westerlands
  3 Emma O'Shea U/A
FV40 1 Joanna Schreiber Pudsey & Bramley
  2 Mary Hunter Portobello
  3 Deborah MacDonald HBT
FV50 1 <none awarded>  
  2 <none awarded>  
FV60 1 <none awarded>  
  2 <none awarded>  
F TEAM 1 <none awarded>  

Home | Go Back
© Carnethy.com 2014