Two Records Broken in Manor Water Hill Race!
(Report by Graham Pyatt)

Brian Marshall
On Saturday, 14 October 2006 ninety six runners took part in the Manor Water Hill Race, a 50% increase on the previous best turnout. (Could this be due to the fact that the Pentland Skyline was not being run on the following day?) The winner, Brian Marshall, knocked 35 seconds off the existing men’s record time.
Benjamin Kemp
This was the fourteenth race, held in conjunction with the Manor Water Sheepdog Trials, one of the major events of the year in the Manor Valley, and under the auspices of the Carnethy Hill Running Club. The race took place in almost ideal conditions of dry weather with little wind, although the hilltops were obscured by cloud until just before the start. Recent rains had made the low-lying fields muddy, but had merely softened the hill ground, making for a relaxing run, especially on the downhill.
Brian Marshall of H.E.L.P won the race in 68m 14s. He had run the race only once before, in 2003, when he was placed third. Second was Benjamin Kemp (Portobello) in 71m 55s, third (for the second year in succession) was John Kennedy (Clydesdale) in 73m 16s and fourth was Bruce Smith (Standard Life) in 74m 23s. The first woman home, in 17th place, was Veronique Oldham (Norham) in 79m 36s.
Jill Mykura was 2nd lady
Graeme Ackland
Third fastest John Kennedy was again the winner of the Men over 40 years class. Fourth fastest Bruce Smith was also second in this class, and third M40 was Will Hynd (Moorfoot) in 75m 20s. Will Hynd also won the prize for First Local runner.
The Men over 50 years class was won by Stuart Knowles (Fife AC) in 84m 35s, second was Trevor Collins (Carnethy) in 87m 12s and third was Hamilton Semple (Westerlands) in 87m 42s.
The winner of the Men over 60 years class was Douglas Milligan (Solway) in the remarkable time of 84m 22s. Not only was this a new record for the M60 class, by almost 6 minutes, but Douglas beat all the runners in the M50 class! Second was Brian Waldie (Carnethy) in 88m 54s. Brian was the previous holder of the M60 record and his time this year was over a minute inside his record. Third was Bill Gauld (Carnethy) in 98m 18s. If Bill runs again next year, we will have to include a Men over 70 years class as Bill is already 73 !
Second in the Women Open class was Jill Mykura (Carnethy) in 82m 37s and third was Emma Barclay (Trail Monster) in 89m 48s.
The winner of the Women over 40 years class was Helen Murray (Lothian) in 90m 44s, second was Elspeth Scott (Westerlands) in 97m 23s and third was Deborah MacDonald (HBT) in 98m 18s. This year there were no runners in the Women over 50 years class.
There was one runner in the 16-19 years Junior class this year. Alasdair Hardie (unattached) completed the 5½ ml course in the fast time of 45m 20s. In the Younger Junior Class Kieran McFarlane (Moorfoot) completed the 3 ml course also in a fast time of 25m 09s.
Thanks to - Dawyck Estates Ltd, The Wemyss & March Estates, Forestry Commission Scotland and Mr Barr of Woodhouse Farm. The principal sponsors - Broughton Ales and Young & Co (Footwear) and Veitch’s Corner House, both of Peebles - for vouchers. We are also grateful to the British Red Cross (Borders Branch) for providing 1st Aid services.

The winner receives an engraved silver cup, The John Nash Memorial Trophy, in recognition of the local farmer who initiated the race in 1992.
The next Manor Water Hill Race is scheduled for Saturday 13 October 2007. For information on the 2007 race contact Graham Pyatt tel. (01721) 740319, or for past results click here.

Home | Go Back
© Carnethy.com 2014